30-30-30 reset necessary?

Subscriptions

Subscribe
4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wildgoose
Wildgoose's picture
30-30-30 reset necessary?

Is the 30-30-30 reset necessary for upgrading/switching firmware on the 3500L? Is a factory-default via the configuration menu the same thing? If not, what exactly does a 30-30-30 reset do that a factory default option doesn’t do?

I usually factory default my router via configuration option before and after firmware upgrade:

  1. factory default, device reboots automatically.
  2. Wait a few minutes for device to fully start, upgrade firmware, device reboots automatically afterwards
  3. Wait a few minutes for device to fully start, then do another factory default.

I recently switched from stock firmware to Kong DD-WRT, and plan to experiment with tomato soon, so I might be switching back/forth between dd-wrt and tomato. Reading the wiki pages and FAQ, there seems to be a lot of emphasis on the 30-30-30 reset. I am curious to know whether it is necessary, or will a factory default setting do just fine?

Thanks!

Brandon C
Brandon C's picture
The 30-30-30 is just one more

The 30-30-30 is just one more way of making sure everything is cleared out before and after an update.
I have changed firmwares both version number and types even without doing it and rarely have an issue.
If you are resetting to default before and after an upgrade you probably won't have any issues.

N3rox
N3rox's picture
Hello,

Hello,
Do I need to get back to orginal firmware from Netgeear before I downgrade DD-wrt to another DD-WRT?

Or can I just reset to default settings from the webgui in dd-wrt and than just use the firmware uppgrade in the webgui in DD-WRT?

Hope you understand

whit
whit's picture
N3rox, I'm not expert, but

N3rox, I'm not expert, but you should be able to use DD-WRT's upgrade option to switch versions.

One use of 30/30/30 that's been useful to me, after DD-WRT's installation, is in forcing it back to default password. I assume it's resetting it to all the other defaults too. After all, it's the "reset" button. So if you do that, then upgrade or downgrade DD-WRT, you should be good.

Personally, I've got one DD-WRT wifi and one Tomato - just a matter of which had a decent version available for the specific hardware. Of the two, I find the UI for Tomato better designed, and the feature set fairly similar.