Please help me decide whether to install DD-WRT on my R8000

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
aruffell
aruffell's picture
Please help me decide whether to install DD-WRT on my R8000

I assume lots of others are a bit skeptical on going through the hassle of installing DD-WRT on their shiny new NetGear R8000 not knowing whether it will work properly or not. I have been using DD-WRT on a large number of router for many years and generally love it - when it works - so I am super tempted to install DD-WRT on my latest router - the R8000.

Here are my concerns:

1) I have 1 Gbps symmetric fiber optic service from UVerse to my house. With my old DD-WRT router I could not even get close to 1 Gbps on my LAN and all I could get via wireless was about 50 Mbps. I purchased the R8000 and now I get over 900Mbps up and down from my ISP. I am concerned that DD-WRT will negatively affect my ability to maximize the connection speed with my ISP. I really do not need over 900 Mbps internet connection speeds but the geek in me just finds that too cool to have... Has anyone verified that the R8000 with DD-WRT will not negatively impact its performace when connected to an ISP that provides 1 Gbps throughput up and down? (ie.: Google Fiber / ATT Uverse GigaPower)

2) I have read another thread on this forum talking about poor wireless performance and although I have very little devices that are already AC, I do not want to start fighting that battle. Is the wireless performance up to par with what this router's hardware can do?

3) In my years using DD-WRT I had long periods of time where everything worked great but I have also had long torturous periods where the firmware was just broken and it took forever to get an update. I really love this firmware and would love to contribute $$ to its development if only doing so guaranteed more reliable releases! Is anything major broken with this first release for the R8000?