Warning during 3500L firmware upgrade

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
mattS
mattS's picture
Warning during 3500L firmware upgrade

I started to upgrade my 3500L firmware from the NETGEAR preloaded firmware.  I have never done this before, so I stopped at the warning below, not knowing whether it was serious issue.  I got the message below just after choosing the .chk file and then clicked "upload".  I also tried it with the 14896 build.  Does anyone know what this means and whether it is a problem or not to move to the next step?

Warning! You are trying to download the firmware which the region is different from the current firmware you had.
Do you still want to continue?
Current Firmware Version V1.0.2.50_31.1.25NA
Uploaded Version V1.0.0.64_196.87.0
taekwon3dan
taekwon3dan's picture
These are the North American

These are the North American versions (top being most recent) for WNR3500L, but the firmware version you have appears to be that for WNR3500V2.

Downloads (for WNR3500L): http://kb.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/12150

* WNR3500L Firmware Version 1.2.2.30
* WNR3500L Firmware Version 1.0.2.50
* WNR3500L Firmware Version 1.0.2.26
* WNR3500L Firmware Version 1.0.0.88
* WNR3500L Initial Release Firmware Version 1.0.0.86

You must have the WNR3500V2, not WNR3500L, or are trying to upload a WNR3500V2 firmware on a WNR3500L. Am I right?

mattS
mattS's picture
Thank you for the info. I

Thank you for the info. I think I did not word my question correctly. I have a 3500L and want to put different firmware on it. Something that is an improvement on the stock firmware from NETGEAR. From what I have read I believe Tomato can provide the USB support that I am looking for in a firmware. Can anyone point me in the right direction to get firmware that has USB support (multiple level authorization on the USB connected partitioned hard drive) and works with the 3500L?

taekwon3dan
taekwon3dan's picture
Yes. You have options.

Yes. You have options.