Why not WNDR3700L instead?

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
PaulC
PaulC's picture
Why not WNDR3700L instead?

Given the audience that an open-source labeled product is aimed at, why choose the WNR3500 as the platform instead of the more capable (& faster) WNDR3700?

Is it because of the Atheros vs. Broadcom chipsets? Given that the Atheros folks seem to be more open source friendly than Broadcom, wouldn't an Atheros-based router make more sense for an open source platform than a Broadcom-based one?

It would also avoid the grief Netgear is getting because of Broadcom's poor open source policies...

-- Paul

PaulC
PaulC's picture
I do 'know my way round a bit

I do 'know my way round a bit', so that looks encouraging (I develop embedded linux devices for a living). Though it is a shame that it's not a more recent version of OpenWRT.

As far as the binary packages go, it bothers me personally much less than some in the community, so long as it's things I'm unlikely to want to modify (e.g. wireless baseband firmware). Plus some of those listed in the thread look like they're either minor (LED control) or not really 'binary' just 'not built from source', e.g. samba-scripts.

In my professional life, I've interacted with both Atheros and
Broadcom (though ended up going with another vendor). I got the clear
impression that Atheros understood the open source community, and saw
the synergies (within their legal and business constraints), Broadcom
not so much. Somehow it seems ill-advised for the community to be
favoring a silicon vendor that doesn't recipricate. And nothing sends a
clearer message than voting with your wallet :)

But the real point of my post was a question for Netgear - why put your resources into producing a '-L' version of the 3500, when I'm sure most card-carrying geeks would rather be playing with the 3700?

-- Paul

PaulC
PaulC's picture
@Som Pal Choudhury: