WNR3500L - which firmware to use for best usb performance?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
dimyself
dimyself's picture
WNR3500L - which firmware to use for best usb performance?

Hello, I'm new to this but will receive my router today. I'm just curious which firmware to use (tomato, dd-wrt, etc...)?

I will use the router mostly on wifi, however going to ps3 is hard wire. Also, I have usb sata hard drive to connect to the router and am curious which firmware does best with streaming music/video files from usb on the router to ps3, windows, linux, etc?? I guess my question is which firmware will perform best using the usb interface and has the latest broadcom drivers?

If usb doesnt perform well enough I will setup a software raid using linux, however I was hoping the usb on the router would be "quick enough" to perform?

I was thinking to try the firmware kong listed here. How is the performance compared to default/tomato/etc? http://www.myopenrouter.com/forum/thread/20394/DD-WRT-Kong-Mod-Update-sv...

I will alsoexperiment with the other router features...thanks and sorry for the newb question!

dimyself
dimyself's picture
Haha thanks...

Haha thanks...

I thought some of the firmwares perform better/quicker than others and some are slower???? Which firmwares perform best on the 3500L?

dimyself
dimyself's picture
Ok I loaded this firmware

Ok I loaded this firmware last night (kong update with SMB auto mount, etc)
http://www.myopenrouter.com/forum/thread/20394/DD-WRT-Kong-Mod-Update-sv...

Everything seems OK, except.... Where is the DLNA options?? Is it the same thing as UPNP? I enabled it however I can't get PS3 to recognize the usb sata HD I plugged into the router. Windows can see it if I browse like \\192.168.1.1, but PS3 will not.

Is there something I need to do for this? I've enabled SMB open access, UPNP, USB support, etc. My ddrive is currently fat32 also.