Setup openvpn on Voxel`s firmware on R9000

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
jrr
jrr's picture
Setup openvpn on Voxel`s firmware on R9000

Ok I am new to this sort of stuff, looks like fun and frustration.

Ok read Voxels Introduction files PDF.

Ok installed voxels firmware version R9000-V1.0.4.14HF-HW, verified, is this the correct version for stability? Or should I get the newest version? 

Ok download several OVPN configuration files for different servers. Do I need to create different folder for each configuration file? Or any other way?Or only one at a time can be loaded to router?

Ok went to create folder named /etc/openvpn/config/client, windows won`t allow /  on file names, so for now I left them as  etcopenvpnconfigclient? What to do next?

Ok kept going changed the ovpn config file to suggested by Voxels Introduction PDF from auth-user-pass to auth-user-pass /etc/openvpn/config/client/auth.txt. I did this to all 6 configuration files for each server. I believe it is ok.

Next create a text file named it auth.txt and only have my user name only on first text line XXXXXX and only password on the second text line OOOOOO, -

I didn`t Put Username: and then XXXXXX or Password: OOOOOO. I dropped a OVPN file and an auth.txt file in each folder that I was not able to name to /etc/openvpn/config/client. 

So now I will wait and see if anyone can guide me, help me with my situation.

Using Windows 10 OS system computer.

Voxel
Voxel's picture
Well, I've got your message

Well, I've got your message in P.M.

Answers to what I could understand:

1. It is better to use latest version of firmware. Currently it is 1.0.4.15HF-HW

2.You can use only one from your ovpn config files. So choose single ovpn file (what is better for your location).