Questions Regarding Initial Upgrade of R8000 Router

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
kcardenas
kcardenas's picture
Questions Regarding Initial Upgrade of R8000 Router

Hi all,

I am a complete noob to DD-WRT and need some kind assistance in my persuit of open router freedom!

Unfortunately, the information available all over the internet really distorts the actual process required to upgrade any router to DD-WRT.  From videos, forums, written blogs, wiki guides, its really all over the place and well, rather confusing for a first timer hence my request.  I do not want to "brick" my router so I thought it would be best to ask for some help rather than making potentially flawed assumptions.

So I have a nighthawk R8000 which is currently running the lastest firmware and connected to a fibre optic broadband vendor with no username or password required for a connection.

In my research on this excellent site, I found and began following Subhra's guide http://www.myopenrouter.com/article/how-flash-dd-wrt-open-source-firmware-netgear-r8000-nighthawk-x6 but have become confused with some of the items in it.

Following the guide introduction (before the actual steps are covered), I access the Netgear support site and downloaded the initial firmware from : http://www.netgear.com/support/product/R8000#Firmware%20Version%201.0.0.46%20(Initial%20Release)

Question 1:  Can I not just reset my new router to it's factory settings instead of doing this?  What's the difference between each approach?

Following on to download the DD-WRT firmware (still in the guide introduction) from http://www.myopenrouter.com/download/list?cat=100 I arrive at a page with various downloads for different routers. Even after filtering by the R8000 model, I am still presented with various download choices.

Question 2:  Does one download the latest DD-WRT by Tathagata (Rev. 29627 as I write this message) or do I need something else?