WNR3500L(2) Repeater Bridge and Router Setup Questions

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
HeCareth
HeCareth's picture
WNR3500L(2) Repeater Bridge and Router Setup Questions

Hi all I posted this somewhere else in the comments in Kongs Mod, but I figured I should start a new thread since it was a good amount of questions.

Ok So I am new to this open source router bit, but I am starting to get the feel of it. This is the setup I am going for so anyone please tell me if I going down the wrong path

1. I have 2 WNR3500L's, One which is the Primary running upstairs in the office and one which is running as a Repeater Bridge downstairs next to the TV.

2. I decided that I will reformat my 2TB Hard drive to ext3 and connect it to the Repeater Bridge. I will enable SAMBA and miniDLNA here. My Media extender will be connected to this router so I figured I will connect my media drive here. I stream HD movies >2gb so I figured I should just do the better performing ext3 over NTFS, since I had to reformat it from exFAT anyway.

3. I have another 500 GB drive that I will use for all my data that I will reformat to ext3 and connect it to the Primary Router in the office with SAMBA enabled.

So thats my setup, so here are my questions

1. Will I get better performance using WDS instead of Repeater Bridge?

2. Can I connect an USB drive to the repeater similar to the primary router without any crazy problems or do I need to do a little extra to make that work?

3. What is the best way to partition the drive with this release? I read somewhere I should do 4 partitions for optware (ext3), swapfile (linux-swap), data (ext3), and jffs (ext3).

4. With SAMBA enabled will I be able to transfer media files directly to my miniDLNA media shares through windows networking? and Will this have any effect on the miniDLNA?

5. n3IVI0 asked a question about renaming the miniDLNA to a different name other than DD-WRT, is there a way to do this?

6. Any other recommendations would be much appreciated.