Purchason R9000 - A couple of questions

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
n944la
n944la's picture
Purchason R9000 - A couple of questions

Hi

I have a couple of questions before I purchase the R9000. I see I can get it for $265 on Amazon and that's probably the lowest I will find...next to searching on eBay for a used one.

1. I have a Comcast Cisco DPC3941B modem/gw/router and would of course be disabling the WiFi and wanted to know if anyone has noticed a substantial difference in throughput via their smartphone or latop, etc. vs. their Comcast unit. I assume so, however, just looking for confirmation.

2. This isn't a buy/no buy issue, however, can this be used with my ExpressVPN account..either as is or with 3rd party FW ?

3. I am assuming the antennas are detachable and if that is the case has anyone tried using external antennas?

I am a ham radio operator and RF Engineer and built a small GasFET based multi-band RF amplifier covering each band used. The maximum ERP is ** 2 Watts PEP and would like to experiment with this. I just need detachable antennas to access the female SMA conhnector. I have short SMA to N connector cables and several small 8 element Yagi (very directional) antennas that woiuld allow me to focus the RF down the hallway through my place. I am at one end of my place and thats where my NOC/LAN is located, thus focusing RF down an open hallway 100' long would be sweet....just using one of the bands even.

** Yes. I am aware of the RF exposure and ERP of course. I am licensed to experiment and would like to with this. The yagi antennas I designed are high gain (~16-22dbi) so it should be a killer setup in a 100' long building.,

Tnx
Tim Dickerson

ARS N9NU
Sandwich, IL AIrport
EventHorizon
EventHorizon's picture
I'm an R9000 user, so I will

I'm an R9000 user, so I will answer those that I can at least if it helps. :)